
The Walled Garden
The red brick walled garden was commissioned by Sarah Diodati Gardiner in the 1930s and once showcased roses, vegetables, and long peony runs. Still standing is the potting shed, cold frames, and statuary. A peacock fountain sculpted by Bay Shore resident Mary Aldrich Fraiser is the focal point of the garden. The gardens are currently being restored by Friends of the Manor Gardens.
The Carriage House
Built in 1924 by the E.W. Howell Construction Co. and designed by E.B. Howell, the Carriage House includes the caretaker’s quarters, stables, and spaces for several vehicles.
The Thompson-Gardiner Cemetery
The family cemetery is the final resting place for some of the early members of the Thompson-Gardiner family. View the grave sites and unique architectural design of the wrought iron fence.
The Buttery
The butter was used to store perishables during Colonial times. It now houses two cross sections of a large old tree called “Sir Henry’s Oak.” It is said that Sir Henry Clinton met with his officers at the tree during the time Sagtikos Manor was occupied by the British during the American Revolution.
Friends of the Manor Gardens
Friends of the Manor Gardens (FMG) is a standing committee under the umbrella of the Sagtikos Manor Historical Society.
FMG is dedicated to the maintenance and restoration of the historic landscape at Sagtikos Manor.
They are responsible for:
Keeping up appearances
Resurrecting the plants within the 80 year old walled garden
Decorative Plantings
Research
Garden Events and Grounds Tours
For more information, contact sagtikosfmg@gmail.com.